I’m Back…

Dear followers (or people who read secretly and never comment..*cough* LIZ *cough*)

It has come to my attention that my absence has been noted in the “blogosphere”. I brushed this aside and merely explained that I was no longer into blogging, however after the 4th or 5th mention (I know…so many fans) I decided that for each person who actually commented or told me they read, there are probably at least 2 or 3 others who don’t say anything. Writing about my life here in Italy for 10 people who may be interested or even find this of use is enough for me. So here are some brief updates before hopefully getting back into the swing of things (I’m hoping for weekly posts or so..but no promises).

Livio and I just returned from our honeymoon in Peter Island (in the British Virgin Islands… you can see it’s location here.) Suffice it to say, it was all a honeymoon should be. Pure relaxation and privacy.

Little place where we went snorkeling on our private sail

Our little friend who came begging for crumbs every morning while we had breakfast on the terrace

The beautiful pool at the spa…this was in the middle of the day, as you can see, we literally felt like we were the only ones there sometimes. That is Livio walking next to the pool

Livio in the palm trees

The tiny little plane that we took over to Beef Island Airport (the closest airport to Peter Island in the BVIs). It was an 8-seater prop jet!

It is a great resort for a honeymoon because it is the only resort on the island and so it seems like you have the whole island to yourself, not to mention the great food and drink, beaches and spa. *Sigh* I wish we could honeymoon once a year…

After our week in paradise, we returned to the US for the week.  The main purpose of this was for the beautiful and *super* fun wedding of my brother Gordon and Annie (hi sis-in-law!). It was an awesome way to finish off our trip back to the US and I could not be happier for the couple.

first dance. Photo credit: http://kylelaferriere.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/annie-gordon-macmillan/

They had an amazing beach-themed wedding and my sister Lars and I were bridesmaids.

Here we are…boogieing with our dad

I know I need to finish up my wedding series here on the ol’ blog. Are people interested in hearing about my wedding planning still or shall I just move on with life? Anyone who reads this, let me know, any feedback or advice would be appreciated.

We are now back in Italy and after the usual week of adjusting and jet lag we are back to normal here. Normal meaning our weekly pizza dinner.

This pizzeria is one of our favorites in our area. It is called pizzeria la pace and I highly recommend it if you are ever in the Veneto region. They specialize in these huge pizzas al panaro, which are basically maxi-pizzas with several different topping sections (on the bigger ones up to 8). Those in the photo above, by the way, are considered just “individual pizzas”. Here is their site.

Well that is all for now. Please any feedback would be appreciated (even if just to say hi and that you read the blog!). A presto!

14 thoughts on “I’m Back…

    • Hi Becca! Thankkks! When are you and Ryan getting hitched? I am so happy for you guys I can’t believe how long you’ve been together. Tell him I say hi and next time we’re in the burg I will try to meet up!

      • Hi Sarah!!! I don’t know why but I just now saw your reply…how cool that you can do that!!! Hope you are doing well. We missed you at the wedding but really hope we can see you again soon! Also, I love reading your posts. Especially the cooking ones they are so inspirational to those of us who are still relying on a microwave as our main source for food! haha.

  1. Wedding wedding wedding details!!!! Some of us *cough* didnt get to come to italia and see your beautiful wedding so I want all the deets!!!

    Yay for being back on the blogwagon! Love the honeymoon photos and that pizza looks aaaaamazing.

  2. yay! Glad you’re back! I started reading your blog right when you stopped blogging! I’m glad you had a wonderful honeymoon! We went to Antigua for our honeymoon and it was amazing! But for me anywhere in the islands is a great place to be;) I can’t wait to see more of your delicious recipes! (oh if you’re wondering who i am, my mom is becky that used to work at your dad’s office!)

  3. Hi! I’m reading your blog! haha…can’t wait to hear more about your honeymoon! The pics are beautiful, glad you are back and blogging, and gordon and annies wedding looked like so much fun. congrats to them! so cute…miss you merlos 🙂 lani

  4. Hello Beauty!
    Yeeess, you are back!
    I just saw the honeymoon pictures, awesome!
    Bentornata online! Un abbraccio amici miei!
    Max

  5. Sarah,
    I was wondering why you stopped writing! Yes I may not admit it to anyone but I’m kind of traveling vicariously through your blog! Congrats on gettin’ married and I hope Italia is as fun as it looks. I love the recipes, but tell us about other aspects of life in Italia? Politics, news, work, etc..

    Thanks and keep it up!

    Adam Alcorn

    • Hey Adam, thanks for letting me know! I appreciate constructive criticism and thoughtful suggestions. I am not big on politics here in Italy, as I cannot yet vote and I pretty much disagree with the way that they run their country, economy, schools, post office etc. It makes me appreciate the good ol’ U S of A. However I can blog about my work and any news that I feel worthy of commenting on, in fact maybe I will make it a (bi-)weekly installment. Unfortunately, I am back in Blacksburg until the end of July, but I will be posting while I am here anyways. Thanks for the comment, please keep it up!
      SJ

Leave a Reply

